Healthy Pop Tart Recipe.

My friend was coming over for brunch on Sunday and I had promised to make us something healthier but not TOO healthy (since she isn’t exactly on the same Raw till 4 level as myself). I had just seen a picture of a healthy Pop Tart in my Instagram feed so I figured I would attempt making one myself. How hard could it be? After looking on Pinterest at a million Pop Tart recipes I decided to keep my dough simple and make the filling and topping healthier. If you want to make the dough yourself there are a ton of recipes out there. I chose to get some ready-made pie crusts and call it a day. Where I decided to go healthy was in the jam filling and the protein powder glaze topping. Now, it has been years since I had a real Pop Tart, but I can say with confidence that these tasted much better…sort of like a cross between a Pop Tart and a Toaster Strudel. I know they were great because the bf plans on eating them for breakfast everyday this week! Get the recipe below and let me know if you try this out. If you do, be sure to tag me on Instagram, Twitter or Pinterest with @hautehealthy.

healthy pop tart recipe_haute + healthy

Pop Tart Ingredients:
4 Ready-made frozen pie crusts (they come in packs of 2)

Jam:
Berries of your choice. We used blueberries & strawberries – once regular package of each was enough.

Glaze:
PerfectFit Protein powder + almond milk

Directions: (Makes 12 pop tarts)
(Night before) Heat berries in pot on medium-high heat with 1/2 Cup coconut sugar + 2 tbsp coconut oil until boiling. Once boiling let simmer and stir occasionally. We let them cool off and refrigerated overnight for the next morning. *If you don’t want to make your own “jam” you can skip this part and use a natural jam from a jar.

Preheat oven to 425.

Take pie crusts out and let thaw (15 minutes). Once thawed, put flour down on your counter and roll out pie crusts a little bit. The edges will break off since it is circular – put the edges to the side. Use a knife or pizza cutter and cut as many matching squares in dough as possible. Take all the remaining edges and roll them into a dough ball, then roll that out to cut some more squares from it. We made 12 Pop Tarts, so 24 squares.

Lay squares down on a baking sheet (make sure to put aluminum foil or parchment paper below them first), place jam in the center of those that are laid down. Place matching squares on top of each and pinch all the way around pop tart with a fork to close down the dough.

Bake pop tarts for 10-15 minutes or until browned.

Take out to cool off a bit.

In a small bowl, mix 1 scoop protein powder with some almond milk. It will begin to form into a frosting texture. You will then spread this on top of your pop tarts and then add some sprinkles!

Some other genius Pop Tart ideas I had while making these:
Do banana filling and put Nutella on top (not healthy at all).
Make the protein glaze as the filling and add some cinnamon, topped with cinnamon and coconut sugar.
Fill with acai and top with goji berries.

The Pop Tart possibilities are endless…

xx, Beth

One thought on “Healthy Pop Tart Recipe.

  1. Pingback: My Clean Eating Weekly Diary. | haute + healthy

Leave a Reply

