Create Your Own Acai Bowl.

If you follow my instagram @hautehealthy you know that I have been obsessed with acai bowls lately. But after paying $10 for every bowl I figured it couldn’t be too hard to try to make these on my own. If you have never had acai before, it is a “superfood” berry found on palm trees in Brazil that has a combination of antioxidants, amino acids and omega fatty acids,  all that help slow the aging process by boosting immune and metabolic function and removing destructive free radicals from our bodies. Also, the little acai berries have more grams of protein than an egg, and when combined with its host of omega 3, 6 and 9 fatty acids, acai has been shown to improve the look and texture of your hair, skin and nails. Pretty amazing right? Not to mention I just love the taste of acai. Traditionally, acai bowls are topped with fresh fruit but you can pretty much add anything you want to make your bowl unique.

make your own acai bowl recipe_haute + healthy

Acai is pretty hard to come by so the easiest and cheapest way I found of ordering it was to buy the Sambazon organic powdered acai from Vitacost. You get 30 servings/scoops for just $18, can’t beat that! Also, if you want to take $10 off your Vitacost order of over $30, use this link to order your items. I also ordered some Goji berries to top off my bowl as Vitacost had the lowest price for those as well. The best part of the acai bowl is it is quick and easy, you can make it the night before work and in the morning top it with pretty much anything you want and enjoy. You can also add the powder to your smoothies. Here is how I made my first at home acai bowl with the Sambazon organic powdered acai, you actually only need 1/2 a scoop of powder for one bowl so this recipe ended up serving two people. (I still ate the entire thing though, ha.)

Sambazon Acai Bowl Recipe (serves 2)
1 scoop Sambazon organic acai powder
1 banana
4 strawberries
1 Cup of water (I read that you can also use coconut water or almond milk but water worked just fine)

Blend ingredients together, let sit overnight.

In the morning, add your toppings and enjoy! I added: coconut flakes, Goji berries, Muesli, some honey and more banana slices.

How do you make your acai bowls? Any toppings I should try out? Let me know how this recipe works for you and enjoy my acai obsession. It is going to be hard for me to have any self control with this and I will probably be eating acai bowls for breakfast, lunch and dinner this week. #acaiproblems

xx, Beth

2 thoughts on “Create Your Own Acai Bowl.

  1. I recommend you look for a good frozen acai brand to use that doesn’t have soy additives. I used Amafruits organic acai frozen packs. The acai bowls are so much better than anything you can make with an acai powder. It is real acai puree. The powders are all reprocessed from the purees and strip out valuable nutrients in the freeze-drying process. Just get straight frozen acai for much better flavor and texture to your acai bowl, plus loads more nutrition. In Chicago, we can find the Amafruits frozen acai packs in lots of stores and they sell online also.

    • Thanks Brandon, I will try to find a good frozen brand. My local Publix doesn’t carry any so it has been difficult for me to find, but great points on the powdered form and I will look into Amafruits. xx

Leave a Reply

