The Inside Girl’s Guide to Crossfit.

A lot of people we know are members of our local Crossfit {a conditioning program that mixes Olympic weightlifting, powerlifting, calisthenics, sprints, plyometrics and other exercises into short, intense workouts}. We have heard the Crossfit good {buff bods}, the bad {cult-like} and the ugly {injuries} so we wanted to find out more information from an insider’s perspective. And not just any insider; a female insider who has been a member for years, has a killer bod and would give it to us straight. Here is our Q&A with a Crossfitter!

Crossfit Stats Joined: March 2009 / Activity: 3-4 times a week

Why did you initially join Crossfit?
I joined after hearing nonstop chatter from my roommate at the time. She was so passionate about every workout and really enjoyed her experience with the coaches, the team atmosphere and friendly competition with her classmates. I eventually gave in and signed up for “just one month to switch it up” and here I am 3 years later. I didn’t want to see another treadmill or elliptical machine for a while and I knew this was my only way to do so.

What goals have you achieved through Crossfit?
In the peak of my attendance, my body was in the best shape it had ever been. I learned a lot about “Olympic lifting” (power cleans, clean and jerk, back squats, etc.) and the correct form for each movement. With that knowledge, I was able to lift weight that I would have laughed at before I walked in those doors. Also, I became stronger and more confident in the gym.

In what ways do you feel your body has changed since starting Crossfit?
I could actually start to SEE the results after about 2 months. The coaches push you further than what you are comfortable with and it results in changes you would never see working out on your own.

How do you tweak the Crossfit workouts to make them your own?
Unlike many people at the gym, I am not there to compete in the games or gain muscle mass. I just wanted to tone up, so I do not go as heavy as what was prescribed. However, they make it perfectly clear that more weight does not = big muscles! If there is a workout that includes weight lifting, sprints and box jumps – I will focus my energy more on the sprints and box jumps. However, if I indulged in a few too many pieces of pizza that past weekend…I would give the entire workout 100%, and not just the cardio portion.

What advice would you give to a person who is intimidated by joining Crossfit?
There is every size, shape, athletic ability and strength of people who attend. You are in control of how heavy and fast you would like to go each day so until you feel confident enough to go the “suggested weight” – scale it down to make it work for you.

What do you think is the biggest misconception about Crossfit?
That it is a “cult” environment. It is more like a group of people who enjoy a great workout and are enthusiastic about leading a healthy lifestyle.

What type of personality do you think benefits from a workout regimen like Crossfit?
Haha, Lazy in the gym! You walk in each day and your workout is already decided and posted on the board. There is no getting out of the movements and because there are other people in your class, you usually feed off of their energy and create a little bit of a competitive nature.

What advice would you give a woman who is thinking of joining her local Crossfit?
Ask about their specials on “trying it out” for free. This allows for you to get a taste, without spending money and making a commitment.

What do you think? Are you interested in joining your local Crossfit? We would love to hear your opinions and thoughts on Crossfit…feel free to share them in the comments below!

One thought on “The Inside Girl’s Guide to Crossfit.

  1. Pingback: Planting the Flag: Part Two - Bound

Leave a Reply

