Maintaining a Haute + Healthy Weight

Have you been working hard, eating right, and looking to maintain your healthy weight? Weight loss {and then maintenance} is not easy, but if you figure out what works for you, it’s possible to stay ahead of the curve. See my equivalent of “diet tips” below… the best part is that they don’t require any sort of diet. They are just my everyday tips and tricks that I implement in order to keep myself at my happy weight, and feeling my healthiest.

  • Hot water with lemon in the morning kick starts a healthy mindset for the day. It’s detoxing and provides a sense of zen. There’s no better way to start the day on the right foot. I usually follow this with a healthy green smoothie.
  • Give up the sweetened coffee, lattes, and frapuccinos. Stick with plain old coffee, either with soy or almond milk, or black. I am the last person I ever thought would drink black coffee, but I have gotten used to it and I like it just as much as when it’s flavored with a little soy milk.
  • Get on the hot sauce, hot seeds, wasabi, and herbs + spices bandwagon. Not only do these condiments increase your metabolism and fire up fat burn, but they flavor your food for a more intense eating experience. Because I love hot stuff so much I tend to take it to the extreme and literally smother my pizza in hot seeds, and my sushi in wasabi, but even a small amount will do the trick. You also tend to eat less when a food is super spicy.
  • To beat a craving, try hot tea with almond milk and stevia, or green tea with lemon. I find that this keeps me satisfied for quite a while, and is filling.
  • An apple or a grapefruit mid-afternoon does wonders for controlling appetite. Every day when 3pm rolls around I start to feel the beginnings of my post-lunch hunger pangs rising up. I usually quash this before it starts by being sure to have a piece of fruit on-hand to snack on. The pectin in apples is high in fiber and has antioxidant properties. Grapefruit also contains fiber. In addition, it helps to control insulin levels, and thereby curbs cravings.
  • Don’t eat before bed. I recently read about giving your body a nightly “fast” for 12 hours. This allows the body to take a break from digesting food, and aids your muscles and organs with repair and recovery since your system does not have to work at digestion during this time. If you plan to wake up and eat breakfast at 8:30AM then cut off your nightly eating at 8:30PM. We have all heard that nighttime eating is a no-no, but I had never heard the “12-hour rule” before. These 12 hours give the body time to recuperate and this helps lead to weight loss. I have been utilizing this trick for 2 weeks now and I can attest that I have been feeling great in the mornings.
  • However, on those nights when you just have to have something to eat before bed, my cure for nighttime munchies is chia seeds in soy milk or almond milk. I add a little stevia or unsweetened cocoa powder, let the seeds sit and soak up the liquid for 20 minutes, and ta-da, you have chia seed pudding. It tastes like dessert, and is very low in calories.
  • Don’t give yourself a “free-for-all” on vacation, during holidays, at parties, etc.  Face it, we could come up with excuses for every day of the week to avoid eating healthy. But, if you give yourself a free pass for every event, holiday, special occasion, or weekend, you are not treating your body the way it should be treated. Approach your eating habits as a lifestyle, not as a diet. Healthy eating should be something that becomes an ingrained habit over time, not something that you must force upon yourself. Practice being healthy all the time and see how much better you feel.
  • That said, of course you have to allow yourself an indulgence every once in a while. I use the 85/15 rule. 85% of the time I am eating clean, green and lean. 15% of the time I allow myself to have certain things that are not at the top of the health foods list {such as bagels, bread with a little Earth Balance, tortilla chips, and cupcakes}, but are foods that I enjoy and would probably overdo it on if I were to restrict them entirely. This way, I can come to a happy medium.

What are your healthy eating tips? Feel free to share them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

