Haute + Healthy Cauliflower “Mashed Potatoes”

Despite my intentions, it seems that whenever I set out to follow a recipe it always ends up as an even healthier version of the recipe I was following; I just can’t help it! I was in the mood for something healthy yet indulgent last night, so I began following this Loaded “Mashed Potato” Bake recipe from the adorable website Dashing Dish, which provides healthy alternative recipes for your favorite comfort foods. However, my dish came out quite differently than the one on their site.

Either way, it was very filling and nutritious and fit the bill for what I was craving.  Check out my recipe below for “mashed potatoes” made with cauliflower… much healthier than using actual potatoes!

cauliflower mashed potatoes

Directions (makes 2 servings): Wash and cut cauliflower into pieces small enough to fit in a food processor. Pulse until all pieces are blended. Transfer cauliflower to a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 8 minutes to soften. Add cauliflower back to the food processor and pulse in tofu, garlic powder, salt + pepper. Pulse until the consistency resembles that of mashed potatoes. Transfer the mixture to a baking dish and stir in cheese {I used reduced fat}. Bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees. Top with Earth Balance if desired, and enjoy.

Nutrition info (per serving): 295 cal, 9g fat, 24g carb, 9g fiber, 8g sugar, 31g protein

Leave a Reply

